Rosberg X Racing Wins Inaugural Extreme E Race

Rosberg X Racing Wins Inaugural Extreme E Race

The Extreme E Series kicked off in Saudi Arabia over the weekend. Drivers Johan Kristofferssson and Molly Taylor gave Rosberg X Racing the first win of the series.

The duo had to dig deep in the desert to earn the victory. The team was assessed a 60-second time penalty caused by a technical problem.

“We’ve worked so hard on this for many years, and finally everything has come together this weekend. It really has been beyond my wildest expectations. If I had written a script for the perfect weekend, I could not have come up with anything better than what we have witnessed these past two days – I’ve never seen such extreme racing in my life,” said Alejandro Agag.

Ganassi Racing’s Kyle Leduc and Sara Price had a rough start to the event. Leduc crashed the car during a Friday’s practice runs. The crew worked late into night to fix the vehicle for the race. Once they got going, Price went head to head with Mattias Ekstrom. After the driver change, Leduc was behind the wheel. As he was chasing down Claudia Hurtgen, they both made contact ending their runs for the weekend.

The cars will be loaded back onto the Extreme E ship­– The St. Helena where it will sail to the next Extreme E race venue, Lac Rose in Senegal which will take place at the end of May.


Final Results

  1. Rosberg X Racing (Johan Kristoffersson / Molly Taylor) 2 laps
  2. Andretti United (Timmy Hansen / Catie Munnings) +23.73s
  3. X44 (Sébastien Loeb / Cristina Gutiérrez) +1m38.09s


Images courtesy of Extreme E

%d bloggers like this: