Champions Crowned at Glen Helen GAS Race

Champions Crowned at Glen Helen GAS Race

The Great American Shortcourse Series completed its inaugural season. Series Champions were crowned over the weekend at the final Glen Helen race.

Seven points separated Christopher Polvoorde and Madix Bailey. Bailey remained in a good position for most of the weekend. Sunday, Bailey would start out front and lead the field. He did everything he could to hold a charge from Polvoorde. In an instant, three laps into the race, Bailey rolled on his side in a turn. A full-course caution was brought out and the track crew righted Bailey, so he could continue on the lead lap. A lap later, heartbreak struck again as his race would end after contact with other trucks. Christopher Polvoorde went on to win the race and season championship.

One of the most hotly contested battles right to the finish would be in Pro Buggy. It was an all-out track fight between Trevor Briska and Trey Gibbs. Both would charge extremely hard every lap right up until the final turn coming off a jump side-by-side. Briska got crossed up with Gibbs and ended up driving over him to finish the race. Gibbs was shut down. In a turn of events, race officials penalized Briska for rough driving and the championship was awarded to Gibbs.

Husband and wife team of Jason and Corry Weller finished together first and second in points in the SR1 UTV class racing a pair of Can Ams. Dave Mason Jr cruised to an easy finish and championship in his eBay Motors backed Pro-2. Connor Barry locked up a modified kart championship. Kyle Knott also secured the limited buggy championship.