Lucas Oil Off Road Hosts Final Race of the Season at Glen Helen Raceway

Lucas Oil Off Road Hosts Final Race of the Season at Glen Helen Raceway

The Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series hosted its final event of the season at Glen Helen Raceway over the weekend. Points championships came down to the final two rounds.

Eliot Watson’s weekend sweeps and eight consecutive wins earned him enough points to win the championship. Watson was out front in both rounds ahead of second place Matt Brister. In Round 9, Trey Gibbs was able to get around Matt Brister for a second-place podium finish.

Brock Heger was out front in Pro-Lite in Round 9. Heger won the race wire to wire. Ronnie Anderson finished second with Cole Mamer finishing third. In Round 10, Heger had enough points for the championship, all he had to do was start the race and save the truck. Ronnie Anderson was out front. After several cautions, the dust settled, and Christopher Polvoorde made it to the lead and took the win.

The tightest points battle was in the Pro-2 class. Jerett Brooks came into the final rounds with the points lead. Doug Mittag started Round 9 out front. It wasn’t long before Brooks came from behind to take the lead. Ryan Beat was able to get around Mittag for second. Mittag finished third. In Round 10, Cory Winner was the polesitter. Winner was quickly passed by Trevor Leighton who led several laps. Leighton spun out and got passed by several trucks. It wouldn’t be long before Jerett Brooks found his way to the front. Doug Mittag wasn’t having any of it and drove his way right to the front and stayed there for the finish. Ryan Beat took another second-place finish. Brooks ended up third. He won the championship by two points over Doug Mittag.

We will have full championship coverage in the November issue of DirtSportsWorld Magazine.

%d bloggers like this: