AMA Announces 2023 Hall of Fame Inductees

AMA Announces 2023 Hall of Fame Inductees

Several notable motocross figures are being inducted into this year’s AMA Hall of Fame. Names include Rita Coombs, Ryan Dungey, Barry Hawk, Grant Langston and Travis Pastrana.


“The Class of 2023 includes individuals who have excelled in many different areas of motorcycling,” said AMA President and CEO Rob Dingman. “Some are champions in many of our premier racing disciplines — motocross, AMA Supercross, and Grand National Cross Country — while others have been significant ambassadors for the sport, creating prestigious events and series that have introduced motorcycling to thousands. We are honored to recognize these motorcycling greats this Sept. 15 at the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame.”

Rita Coombs is credited with helping to create the Amateur National Motocross Championship at Loretta Lynn’s in 1982. The race has grown to be one of the most prestigious amateur motocross events in the country. Ryan Dungey has numerous Supercross and Pro Motocross titles and is one of only seven riders to have more than 30 450SX wins. Barry Hawk has 98 national championship wins. Hawk is the only rider to win AMA GNCC national championship titles on both an ATV and motorcycle. Hawk later became the manager of the Coastal Racing GasGas Factory Racing team and has helped propel riders to numerous wins and championships. Grant Langston has won both a World Motocross Championship, AMA Motocross Championship and both AMA Supercross East and West Championships. Langston also won a Supermoto and 450 MX title before he retired.

The final inductee, Travis Pastrana has built an empire of extreme sports. Pastrana started as the youngest rider to win an AMA 125cc National Motocross Championship at 16 years old. Pastrana has won 17 X-games medals. Pastrana is the leader behind the widely popular Nitro Circus brand which includes live performances of riders doing backflips, jumps, rally car racing and more.

%d bloggers like this: