Luke McMillin and Rob MacCachren Get Second Baja 1000 Victory

Luke McMillin and Rob MacCachren Get Second Baja 1000 Victory

The Superteam of Luke McMillin and Rob MacCachren have done it again. The duo claimed the SCORE Baja 1000 win for the second year in a row. For Luke, the win is his third in a row. Starting second behind leader Bryce Menzies, it was a game of patience and smart driving. Late into the afternoon, the Menzies truck had a transmission failure. That immediately ended any hopes of winning the Baja 1000 for Menzies and his second driver Andy McMillin who is Luke’s cousin. Behind Luke was his brother Dan. Both Trophy trucks held their positions well into the night finishing one and two on the podium. In addition to the Baja 1000 win, Luke is also the season Trophy Truck class champion.

“Today is really, really special for the entire team for quite a few reasons. Today is our third SCORE Baja 1000 in a row in the No. 83 SCORE Trophy Truck. That’s unbelievable. Only two other people in the history of the SCORE Baja 1000 have done that – Rob MacCachren and Larry Ragland – two legends I have looked up to my entire life,” said Luke McMillin.

Gustavo Vildolsola took home a win in the SCORE Trophy Truck Legends class. Kyle Quinn put the Wilson Class 1 on the podium and Elijah Kiger secured a win in the Trophy Spec class.

The other big story of the weekend was in the moto class. Winning again was the SLR team of Mark Samuels, Justin Morgan and Kendall Norman. The trio finished the 828-mile course in 18 hours and 51 minutes. Samuels himself has a total of seven Baja victories.

%d bloggers like this: